Mood Swings: How to use triggers to prevent bad moods and create good ones.

I consider myself to be a moody person, but I don’t believe in letting my bad moods take up my entire day.  Moods can be really misleading. Think about it, when you’re in a good mood, life is great! When you’re in a bad mood, life can sometimes seem agonizing to get through the day. Moods are like the wind and will  breeze right past you, if you let them. Life is never as bad as it seems when you’re in a bad mood because your attitude is the factor that needs to change.

Don’t be fooled by your bad mood. Do not give in to the idea that you are a “moody” person and “can’t help it.” Learn the things that trigger you into being a bad mood. Sometimes these are simple things, like lack of exercise, food, water and being unorganized. In order to better control your moods, you first need to be more aware of your moods. When you are in a bad mood do you ever feel irrational, sarcastic, impatient, indecisive or cynical? Are other people around you more aware of your changing moods than you? Are you affecting other people with your bad moods? When you’re in a bad mood how do you express it?

 Not letting your moods control you is vital in being a happier person. I can be very moody and when I feel a de ja vu of events that have led to previous upsets and bad moods, I now know how to prevent them from happening (most of the time). These feelings of deja vu are similar to why we get into bad moods into the first place. There are certain triggers that cause us to think negatively, then in turn we feel negatively. When we get to know our triggers better we are able to prevent a bad mood from taking us over. So the next time you feel yourself in a deja vu moment, immediately take a (mental ) step back from the situation and think of how you felt the last time this situation occurred. Now think of how you usually deal emotionally and do the complete opposite. This will break the cycle of your trigger leading to your bad mood and instead you will be in a more pleasant mood.

Example: If me and my husband are getting into an argument about an issue we “always” seem to argue about, which is very likely since we’ve been married almost 10 years now, I try to do 180 degrees opposite of how I usually react and act. Usually, I would stay in the argument, drawing it out until my point is clearly defined and he has seen the error of his ways, which surprisingly rarely happens. Now what I do, is in the middle of the argument, when I feel that “I’ve been here before feeling”, I tell him that we have never resolved this issue arguing and that I am going to walk away for 5 minutes to cool off and will be back. Sure enough, about five minutes later, I feel a lot calmer and clear-headed as does he, and we are able to resolve our problems without resorting to a never-ending argument.

This strategy will help you in all situations that trigger you into a bad mood. The dog pees in the house, I usually go ballistic on him, but instead I do the 180* opposite and stay calm, clean up the mess and tell show him where it is appropriate to pee. During this time, I remember that I left him home for 4 hours and forgot to let him out to pee before leaving the house. I am not longer in a bad mood, I am grateful I figured that out instead of unjustly punishing the poor dog.

Remember when you are in a good mood, to think of the positive triggers that led you to that feeling.  Keep those close to your heart as “go-to” ideas for your next mood swing. Also, remember not to let one bad mood affect your entire day, because you have the power to swing that mood right back to a positive and happy one. =)

One thought on “Mood Swings: How to use triggers to prevent bad moods and create good ones.

Leave a Reply

