How I got back in shape after baby (Part 3 of 3)

Part 3:

The final stretch to my pre-pregnancy body. At this point, I had lost 55 pounds and had started focusing on toning up my arms and legs. My stomach was mostly flat and I did that without any sit-ups. I found that when I was running or lifting weights, that I could simultaneously train my abs by flexing them(engaging them) while I was working other parts.

Remember, I started walking, then jog/walk, then jogging and finally running. The last 6 weeks before my son’s 1st birthday (my goal) I had about 10 pounds left to lose and an entire pant size. I was already running 5 miles a day for 5 days, so I added hills to my runs and focused on 30 solid minutes of weight training. I also eliminated Starbucks coffee and made my drinks at home because I could measure my calories better.

My son turned 1 on May 12, 2010 and I put on my favorite tight jeans. It was a very happy day for me. It was about meeting my goal and not giving up despite my downfalls.

Since hitting my goal, my weight has fluctuated by 3-5 pounds every now and then, but I can always go back to my hundreds of journal entries to see how I once overcame my weight struggles and I can take my own advice.

Let’s get this straight: I eat whatever I want. No, I am not one of “lucky” women who can stuff her face with fatty foods and not pay the price. I pay the price all right, at the gym. My mottos when it comes to food are:

“You gotta pay to play” (you gotta pay at the gym for what you eat) and ” It’s all ok in moderation. Portion control! Portion control!Portion Control!” and ” If you deprive yourself of a specific food then that will be the food you binge on later.”

Remember: You can only meet a goal is you got a plan! Stop comparing yourself to other moms, instead use them as inspiration.

2 thoughts on “How I got back in shape after baby (Part 3 of 3)

Leave a Reply

