Quieting the Mind

“Sit in reverie, and watch the changing color of the waves that break upon the idle seashore of the mind”
~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow ~ American Poet (1807 – 1882)

My mind is always racing a million and a half miles per minute with thoughts, ideas, worries, grocery items I need. I decided to take a break today from myself and quiet my mind. The house still had its moments of chaos from the baby whining for treats to the dog barking at a neighbor’s car. The main difference is I let it fade into the background as I listened to the calm sounds of waves in my head.

A mind that is quiet can help bring inner peace. When my mind is peaceful, only then am I truly peaceful on the exterior. I find mine by taking  deep breaths and remembering one of the calmest place I’ve ever been and let my mind wander to those places.

My calm place for today was the ocean near my childhood home. I grew up on the coastside in Northern California and was about 2 blocks away from the beach. When things were complicated in my life or I was too much in my own head, I would walk down to the beach and sit and the very tip of a cliff that overlooked the wonderous blue and white waters below. As I sat there in my hoodie and boots, I would close my eyes and feel the cold wind brush against my face along with small bits of spray from the waves as they crashed against the wall of the cliff. The most gentle and soothing rhythmic sounds of the waves mixed with the gentle “swooshing” sounds made by the wind always made me feel right again. I go there now, in my head at least, and feel calm and peaceful.

Find your place and take 5-10 minutes to really take yourself there and after training your brain to automatically recreate this setting for yourself, you will be able to call on it at a moments notice. It takes practice, because I forget to go to my special place and lose my inner peace of mind.

With the peace of your inner mind comes great clarity and happiness.

2 thoughts on “Quieting the Mind

Leave a Reply

