Don’t Lose Faith

When we face life’s disappointments, they are not easy bumps to get over in the road. It is going to take strong will, courage and a decision to move on. Do not get trapped in the past and allow it to ruin your future. Stop thinking ” why me?” and start thing ” why not me?”
I had a rough 2008 and 2009 where the world as I knew it felt to be crumbling slowly around me. I did not lose faith, but I questioned it and would ask God over and over again “why he was testing my family. Why he was doing this to me. Why he was testing the strength of my sister’s poor body”, but God did not answer in words. I held on to my faith that things would work themselves out. He answered me quietly, through the little and big things that happened in our lives because of these unfortunate incidents and situations. I learned a lot about myself, I aged another 20 years within those 2 long years. I am a stronger person for having gone through all that mental and emotional anguish. I thought of the worst case scenarios and in one case it was literally life or death. I thought about that for months and was very angry that I couldn’t save my sister’s life, whom I had protected all of my life. I felt like I was being punished. I came to a simple conclusion: there are no answers in life and death. These things are beyond our control. We are mere humans that cannot begin to understand the complexities on the universe and of heaven. In the other bad situation I was faced with, I realized that it was merely financial and that in the end, money is insignificant as long as I had the essentials. During this time, I found out I was pregnant with my son and even though I was going to through an extremely stressful time, I realized that if God had blessed us with this tiny being in my womb, that life surely would go on. At the end of this period, my sister came through, my other situation worked itself out and I had an angel in my arms in the form of my son.
It started with changing my perspective on life in general, as a whole and eventually I decided that it was a decision I was going to make to be positive and happy. Yes, a decision. Now, this didn’t happen automatically, I didn’t literally wake up one day and say, ” I accept life as it comes and I am happy about it!!” I woke up and said instead,” I know it is going to be hard, I know that I may be disappointed at times with how my life is panning out, but I refuse to let it get the best of me. I am going to be happy.”
Remember that even if you do not see your value, God does. You must also see it and see your potential. Nothing is ever as bad as it seems, and it is only worse with the attitude you decide to have on your life and circumstances. Hold your head up as high as you can when you are feeling down and remember that you are loved, and you have a purpose on this world. Your dreams may not have turned out for you, but the fact that you are still breathing means that you can keep on dreaming new dreams. No matter what life throws at you, no matter how much you suffer, you have value so do not ever give up on yourself! You have got to be your own best friend, your number one supporter and your number one fan! Do not lose faith!
Now, I ask you this again: if God (or whatever it is you believe in) got you through that dark place you once found yourself in, why would He leave you now?
6 thoughts on “Don’t Lose Faith

  1. I have not lost faith, but I need a sign. That is what got me by last time. When it came everything changed for the better.

  2. Wow girl, I agree! Both you and woods told this to me at the hardest time of my life (my divorce). Yes, I felt as if my life had ended and at that time I questioned god “why me” and I felt nothing good would come out of this, I had no taste for life. Then one day about a month after the initial shock, I got up and accepted what was happening, I put my big girl panties on and said “no one is worth me giving up my life and hopes”. I had no idea what I was going to do for a job, wherevi was going to live and how I was hmgoing to get thru the next hour, let alone the next days. I felt completely lost.

    It’s funny we don’t know what awaits us around the coner, but I believe god does! A month later I was offered a great opportunity, a new job in a new city! Yes me, living on my own for the first time ever, in a new place hundreds of miles from home! Was I scared? Yes! But for the first time in my life I felt free, independent, strong, even though I felt broken inside.
    At the end, this horrible experience has lead me thru a new path, one that has not been easy yet worth every step! In my almost 30 years of life, I have never been so grateful for these last 2 years, years of which have been the toughest! Why, because of this hardship I found me and I countinue to find me ADRIANA!! I am strong and I have overcome so much, after this experience I can say “bring it on”!! I can overcome anything, why because with every experiance I grow stronger and with a new out look in life!! Thx to you and all the wonderfully people who have been there for me these years and whom I’ve learned so much from, from you especially, I have learned to value myself and and look for the positive in all bad situations! I am forever grateful to have you ad woods in my life, as mentors friends and family!

    • You have been througha hell of a rollercoaster ride and have come out on top! Remember that God never leaves us in our most dire times of needs, instead he os holding us tighter and helping us through hard times. We are meant to have hard times to learn to be a stronger person and you are a true testiment to that theory! I’m very proud of you!

  3. Great insight hermana. I’ve realized that when we are faced with hard times, we must find the strengths within ourselves in order to overcome our sadness. Just as important as this inner strength is the strength that our loved ones give us. If I didn’t have my amazing family and friends to lean on and cry to and hold on to, I don’t think I could have made it through much of what I have. I am forever grateful to have found my inner strength and to have people in my life who show me unconditional love, even when I’m a emotional mess.

    I love you, thank you for ALWAYS being there

    • Yes Nikki, you have great supporters and you came out of it all a much wiser and stronge person. You know that your body is a gift, a temple and are taking great care of it! I am proud of you for not giving up and continuing on your journey dispite the bumps in the road!

Leave a Reply

