Don’t Forget Where You Came From!

Nothing, and I mean NOTHING, bothers me more than people who forget where they came from. People who leave their hometown, home state, country and start looking down on their previous homes. I understand loving your current state of living, but where you have been and who you have been around (whether good or bad) have helped to mold you into the person you are today.

If you didn’t like where you lived compared to where you live now, then good for you.  I grew up in Northern California near San Francisco. It is my heart, it helped mold me into the adult I am today by teaching me to appreciate differences in people since I was raised surrounded by so many beautiful cultures and lifestyles.

Since moving from the San Francisco Bay Area, I have lived in the mid-west and the south and now I am in Southern California. Of all the places I have lived, I can appreciate different aspects of each state and city I lived with within these states. I can say that personally, I have found no better place that makes me feel at home than Northern California. I do not need to go on a long rant why it is the best place in the US because if you’re from there, then you already know what I am talking about and if you’re not, then there is no use in my trying to convince you of my heart.

I love where I live now, which is in Southern California because it suits the type of lifestyle I want to have with my young family. I appreciate the warm weather, the scenery and the people but they will never compare to my hometown.

These people who seem to have forgotten where they came from usually are the same people who are easily influenced and are running away from something. Those who leave their homes and bash it are only denying the foundation that mae them who they are today. If you don’t like where you came from, maybe you should explore that idea a little bit more. Are you judging an entire country based on a few states you have lived in or visited? Have you had bad experiences that you are simply judging the entire country on?

These people seem to think that wherever it is that they move to that it is simply better because they are in it. They seem to have moved on passed their roots and have forgotten where they came from.

I understand that where you are now is important to appreciate, but do not forget where you came from. Do not deny yourself of who you are and then people and places that helped mold you into the person you are today. Do not forget your roots. Do not let the next new shiny thing make you forget the vintage memories of your past life. Don’t let one state judge an entire country. Do not let one bad city judge an entire area or state. Do not let one bad memory make you run and hide from the place that helped mold who you are today.

Speaking as a representative of these people’s home state/country/town: If you have forgotten us, don’t worry we will never forget about you because you are rooted in our ground.

10 thoughts on “Don’t Forget Where You Came From!

  1. Hi =] I loved reading your blog! I was born in O.C and lived in Riverside until I joined the Marine Corps and was stationed in Camp Pendleton… So it’s been SoCal most my life =] I like that you said “then there is no use in my trying to convince you of my heart.” So true… Everyone has their “Best place on earth” place =] Not everyone’s will be the same & no one is wrong…. If you don’t mind me sharing my opinion, I disagree on the whole “where you come from made you who you are” A child born to a crack addicted mom and growing up in foster care in the middle of Compton and grows up with a life of destruction and crime and chooses to leave there and better himself and put himself through school overcame his surroundings and didnt use it as an excuse to hold him back definitely didnt let where he came from make him who he was…. =] Love reading your stuff!

  2. Hi, thank you for taking the time to read my blogs!
    I totally agree with the scenario you presented me with makes sense but I also think that by having a rough childhood and turning it around is an example of where you came from is who are you because you chose not to let that bring you down.
    I have used bad experiences from my past to help mold me into the person as I am today by not letting them influence who I become in a negative way, but to push me to strive for better or for more.
    I enjoy hearing opiniong too, so thank you for sharing. =) I guess I didn’t explain myself well-enough, that post was more of a rant because of people in my life putting down places they are from and trying to make others who still live and or love those places feel like they have to explain why they could possible love those places. My rant could have gone on for days!!! LOL!

  3. Hahaha I totally get you!!!! Yeah my mom was 21 with 3 girls under 4 and on welfare etc… & I chose to join the Marine Corps so you’re totally right 😉 & I hate when ppl do that to but then again I hate when ppl act like they’re better than you =/ I love ranting hahaha

  4. With respect…. It’s easy for you to say how nothing bothers you more than people forgetting about their home areas when you are from the most beautiful area in the country. Most of us are not and a lot are from pretty awful places. Some of us choose to not be defined by where we happen to have been born and raised with no say in the matter. Just my 2 cents

    • I totally respect what you are saying. I know plenty of people that come form war-torn countries that still use those experiences to help mold their current life. Whether it be to learn life lessons that they are better off now than in younger years, or to realize that everything in life happens for a reason and use their upbringing to mold their perspectives on life.

  5. Love your blog! I was looking for an article like this and I’m glad to find it here.

    I, too, am very bothered by people who forget where they came from (there was a couple of people I know who do this). This is usually accompanied by their actions that shows in a very obvious way that they look down on the place where they are born and raised and lived most of their lives. Worse of all, they just don’t have anything nice to say and keep on focusing on the negative things.
    I also agree with you that they are indeed, (quote unquote) “easily influenced and running away from something”. Now I can see clearly that they have issues with themselves.

  6. I agree. Most people who forget where they come from forget that the people they knew wont forget them. So, act high and mighty if you want to, but your past actions prove that your not the person your portraying to be. Gain, grow, become humble, and build on your past so that you can accept and respect your future!

Leave a Reply

