My philosophy: To Each His Own…

“To each his own” is the motto I live by…but it doesn’t mean that other people’s views and customs don’t intrigue me a dramatic degree. I hate coming across those people who feel their way is the “right” way of doing things and that everyone else’s way of thinking is wrong simply because it is different that their own. I don’t care if someone questioning my way of thinking or doing things, because we are all different people with our own characteristics and personalities. I enjoy the feedback and outlooks of other people. You can even show me a better way, you can rave about your way of doing things and I’ll listen to you, out of respect, then I will continue doing things the way I like to do them. I have been swayed a few times and had my eyes opened by other people. I am very open-minded but I hate having people’s ideals shoved down my throat to the point where I do not want to hear anymore on the subject their spitting out at me.

I mainly feel this way because I am the last person to “rock the boat”. I like to maintain harmony between friends, family and aquintances always, but have found that when pressed for my absolute opinion on something I am very liberal in most of my ways of thinking. Do not ask me to take sides in a fight or in most situations because I will always remain neutral. Why?Simply because I can clearly see ( and if not will try to) both sides of each argument. This is because there are always two sides, if not more, to every story.

When it comes to religion. To each his own. I am interested in your views, but please do not even attempt to shove your ideas down my throat or try to belittle my views. I am a God-fearing person, I attend church weekly and pray all the time, but you won’t ever see me trying to convert you.

When it comes to politics. To each his own. I understand that you think that you’re right, but if all sides were “right” then the world would be in perfect harmony. No wait, it’s the opposite, because that is happening every day in the world is people from different sides thinking their way is the “right” way and forcing their ideas onto other people. I am conservative on certain things and I am liberal on other things, it’s hard to take sides when you can see both views as having valid points.

When it comes to lifestyle choices. To each his own. As long as you’re not doing anything to harm other people than do what ever feels right to you and whatever is in your heart.

When it comes to raising your kids. To each his own. Why? They are your kids, not mine. Working-mom vs stay-at-home moms. To each his own. I have been on all angles of this subject from being opinionated on being a working mom before I had kids. To having a kid and deciding I would be a stay-at-home mom, to getting a job, working from home and still being a stay-at-home mom. My verdict is: have your opinions and don’t put down other moms for their choices because we are all people, not just mothers and have to do what is right for us and our individual families.

I could touch on a plethora of subjects but instead I will say “to each his own” and leave it at that.

3 thoughts on “My philosophy: To Each His Own…

  1. Live and let live. As I have gotten older I have learned to not roll my eyes and keep my opinions to my self. In turn I don’t lose my temper very often and smile a lot more.

Leave a Reply

