Delaying the “happy”

I have said it many times before, but happiness is something that can’t be found but is created within us. The biggest mistake I see people make is believing that a single “thing” will make their lives whole. Some people are putting their “happy” aside until they fulfill some requirement usually forced upon them by ideals and insecurities they’ve acquired throughout their lives. We say to ourselves, ” I will be happy once I am at my perfect weight, have that new job, husband, kids, career…” what about in the meantime?

Life is too short to delay being happy. It seems long when we are in the middle of a pregnancy (I am 33 weeks), a bad situation (divorce, unemployment etc.) and when we are waiting for “something” amazing to happen. I don’t expect to lead an exciting life Monday through Friday, but I do expect to do things that make myself happy on a daily basis, even something as simple as writing or listening to a favorite song and singing my heart out along with the artist.

Do not delay the happy. Do that one thing that you’ve been putting off now. Start planning that trip you’ve been talking about for years; whatever is on your happy list. Don’t put off being happy because life has a way of catching up with us and it goes fast.

Go look at your “happy list” and if you don’t have one, just make a conscious effort to do little things for yourself daily that make you happy. Do not delay it because it makes no sense to spend time being sad when there is an alternative.

One thought on “Delaying the “happy”

Leave a Reply

