Wisdom: “You’re not a shiny gold coin that everyone is going to like”(Quote from my late great-grandmother)

Despite my many efforts to be a nice person and a considerate person I have come to the conclusion that not everyone is going to like me. This is a concept I have to keep revisiting and re-learning because I am a believer that you get what you give to people. Yet I am faced with the hard reality once again that not everyone is going to like you. This is a hard concept for me to grasp since I always take the time to get to know people and find some common ground with them. I am a people pleaser, as I’ve previously stated in an earlier post, thus this concept in especially hard for me to understand. I have always believed that if I treat people with respect and show an interest in getting to know them that they would do the same.

Here’s some advice before your feelings get hurt: People are like flavors of ice cream, we all like ice cream but we don’t all enjoy all the flavors. Just as you may not enjoy all the flavors, others may not enjoy your particular flavor either.

I believe that the way people treat me is their problem, their karma to deal with, whether they choose to be nice to me or mean, that is up to them. The way they choose to treat me will come back to them through karma. My karma is how I choose to react and act from the way I am treated by other people. In all honesty, I can say I am never as mean to anyone as they are to me, but I always try to be nicer by taking the high road and letting them “win”. Kill them with kindness, never talk behind their back things or say things you would not say to their face and in the end they can never say you were mean-spirited. If they do, however, you and everyone else know that this was made up in their head and not a reality.

As my late great-grandmother used to say, “You’re not a shiny gold coin that everyone is going to like.”

Yeah, I think that about sums it up…

3 thoughts on “Wisdom: “You’re not a shiny gold coin that everyone is going to like”(Quote from my late great-grandmother)

Leave a Reply

