Forgive AND Forget?

As the year comes to an end I find myself reflecting on new lessons learned. I’m not sure if I will ever be able to forget those things that have happened to me by people I love and care for, but I am making the decision to forgive them. It is always worse when being hurt by family that are supposed to know you, but we can’t choose our families, we are born into them. This sometimes gives them more ammunition to fire at you if you are to ever fight because they know where your soft spots are; where you are most vulnerable. I do not believe it is possible for me to erase the memory of a painful incident. I will forgive, not because these people deserve my forgiveness,(or even care to be forgiven), but for myself.

Here’s my lesson and words of wisdom: forgive for yourself, not for the other person that has harmed you. If someone has dissapointed you and shown their true colors, then it is better to know this now than to continue thinking you have a better relationship than you actually do.

I refuse to be harmed by people that I thought cared about me. I refuse to be a victim in any sense of the word. I refuse to put any effort into relationships that are not worth my time.

Key word ” selfpreservation”.

So to all who have harmed me, you are forgiven. I will NOT forget because I will use that experience as a lesson for the future. Thank you for making me a stronger person. Thank you for making my 2011 a year that I will mark as the year I learned to forgive.

One thought on “Forgive AND Forget?

  1. Good for you. It is always best to move on instead of taking it to the grave ( my mom’s words). Things that hurt us always look better in the rear view mirror as we drive off.

Leave a Reply

