If you smile at the world the world will smile back at you but if you frown…

I cannot help but wonder lately where people attitudes are in this world today. I know that there is a vast majority out there that are struggling to survive and get by every day but why are we losing hope? I may be looking at this from rose colored glasses because I too have struggled and have eventually seen the light at the end of the tunnel. Why is it getting harder and harder for those to also see the light at the end of their tunnel? Being pessimistic gets you nowhere and that light at the end of the tunnel is not the headlights of an oncoming train, it is the solution to your problems. It is either one, but you get to choose which you believe it to be. That’s the beauty of perspective.

If you look at the world with dissapointment then all thing will surely dissapoint you. If you leave your house thinking that the world is out to get you, then I promise you that it will feel that way. It is a funny thing, our perspectives on life and how we choose to view everyday occurrences. It is in these perspectives that we find ourself either dissapointed or satisfied. If you are feeling defensive than anything another person has to say to you that is contrary to your beliefs will feel like an attack. The world is not out to get you!

If you go out into the world and think that there is good in people, that there is good in life, you will start to see glimpes of greatness in everyday occurances. Example: a person holding open the door for another, a simple hello from a stranger, eye contact from someone who is asking how your day is going, people letting others cut in front of them at the grocery store. The little everyday
acts of kindness that make up life.

But beware that the same is true if you leave the house with a negative attitude. The lines at the grocery store will seem too long, gas prices too high, everyone who greeted you today was “paid” to do so or is “fake”, small talk is annoying, ect. ect.

Perspective. Let that chip on your shoulder take a break for the day and you will feel so much better, trust me. I have my days too, where “everything” seems to be going wrong, and then I remember that the world is not out to get me and it is me choosing to see only the negative and disregard all the positve that can be found around me every day.

I look at my kids; I look at the flowers blooming in their magnificent glory outside my window; I think of all the great people I have had the pleasure to meet in my life. I listen to music that lifts my spirit. I do something nice for a stranger. All of these and so much more bring me back to the reality of life and the beauty that can be found in everyday occurrences.

10 thoughts on “If you smile at the world the world will smile back at you but if you frown…

  1. Im always surprised how a smile can make a stranger into a happier person! Lots of times it helps me continue on smiling too! thanks Monica i am smiling at you!
    Love

  2. Take the extra step so you have another step to getting higher to your spiritual self. 🙂 It’s a lovely moment when someone speaks from the heart. Thanks for sharing your heart. 😉

Leave a Reply

