Age

It has always amused me how other people’s perceptions of aging, is an insight into their own insecurities. Some people have a specific age where they hope to have accomplished a certain goal and when said goal isn’t accomplished can be very hard on themselves.Then these people project their insecurities onto those around them.

I am all for having goals, but the thought of a certain age equaling happiness or my entry into being “old” is completely absurd to me. I have always believed that you are only as old a you think you are and that it is never to late to be what you might have been. There are exceptions to this theory of course, granted with aging comes strain on our bodies which could potentially hold us back from accomplishing things at an older age.

Want to know what makes you sound old? Always talking about how old you are!!

Studies show that people who are positive about aging tend to live longer than their negative counterparts. Positive thinking is believed to increase will to live, making them healthier because they tend to get over illnesses quicker and are more proactive about health. It also states that the mental stress of aging is lower for people who have a positive attitude because they can find wisdom in nature taking its course.

So, what’s so great about aging? I know that our society is obsessed with youth and beauty, but people really get better with age. Trying to look young makes you look old in most cases. I believe that experience and maturity gives older people great insight into life and I always listen to their advice with wide open ears. As one ages, they tend to let go of people that bring them down, are more in touch with their thoughts, wants, needs and bodies, spirituality and they tend to have their priorities in order. I know that this is not the case for all older people, but I hope for it to be me one day. I take in what I see around me, I really listen when people talk about their mistakes and experiences and reflex on my own life to gain insight into my own thoughts and self.

We should EMBRACE aging because we have no control over it; it is going to happen regardless if you try to stop it or not.

If you don’t embrace your age and get too caught in being old , then you will never get to enjoy being young. These are the people that on their 60th birthday look back and think about when they turned 30 and how they had made such a big deal out of it, when in fact, they still had a lot of living and learning to do.

5 thoughts on “Age

  1. There’s only one problem with that age. You lose physical attraction. And thus ability to love and be loved. That’s what aged people regret, I think. Certainly, they (though not all of them) are wiser with the age. Each stage in life has its advantages and disadvantages. One has to accept it and go further. Zest for life and zest for love never lessen with some people. It’s an interlink, I believe. One more thing – I suspect those who are in a hurry to get what they want as soon as possible are aging quicker. And a state of mind (you are perfectly right) conserves people relatively young. Can I ask your permission to follow you (following sounds like spying : ) ) – or rather follow your words, wisdom and nonsense? I haven’t seen though your nonsense yet but yessense : ) You’re very airy and talented. You may follow me if you like. : ) I know we shall never meet. Only occasional comments may come and meet together.

Leave a Reply

