Everyone has a story.

Remember everyone has a story. The person who cut you off on the highway may be a road-raged lunatic or could be a person in desperate need to get somewhere important on time. That person in line at the grocery store taking too long because they are using a real check instead of a debit or credit card, may have misplaced their card or maybe they just prefer checks.

We have to remember that all people have a story, just like we have one also. Sometimes we just happen to catch people on their off day. Imagine one of your own “off” days; one of those days when everything seems to be going wrong, including your attitude. What if you met you on that particular day?

My younger sister once said to me, after I cursed at another driver for braking too much and driving too slow, “you don’t know that person’s story, maybe they are lost, maybe they don’t feel well today, maybe they’re not themselves today.” I always try to think of this conversation when someone is rude to me or annoying me that I have just met. I don’t know their story.

Granted, there are some real terrible, miserable people out there that only care about themselves, but in general let’s give people the benefit of the doubt. I want the benefit of the doubt.

Remember this next time you’re annoyed by a stranger or irritated by bad customer service that everyone has a story and to be patient with your fellow human. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Everyone has a story.

  1. I beg your pardon, but some people deliberately annoy us. And you are simply annoyed by their innocent annoyance. To tell it frankly I am not rude at all. I’m polite and courteous. But there are cases when it’s better to pretend to be harsh and rough. : ) I’ve recollected this (let it be a kind of a twist to your story above) :
    __________________________________________________
    HOW TO BE RUDE

    it is easy to be rude on the Continent. You just shout and call people names of a zoological character.
    On a slightly higher level you may invent a few stories against your opponents. In Budapest, for instance, when a rather unpleasant-looking actress joined a nudist club, her younger and prettier colleagues spread the story that she had been accepted only under the condition that she should wear a fig-leaf on her face. Or in the same city there was a painter of limited abilities who was a most successful card-player. A colleague of his remarked once: ‘What a spendthrift! All the money he makes on industrious gambling at night, he spends on his painting during the day.’
    In England rudeness has quite a different technique. If somebody tells you an obviously untrue story, on the Continent you would remark ‘You are a liar, Sir, and a rather dirty one at that.’ In England you just say ‘Oh, is that so?’ Or ‘That’s rather an unusual story, isn’t it?’
    When some years ago, knowing ten words of English and using them all wrong, I applied for a translator’s job, my would-be employer (or would-be-not-employer) softly remarked: 1 am afraid your English is somewhat unorthodox.’ This translated into any continental language would mean: employer (to the commissionaire) : ‘Jean, kick this gentleman down the steps I ‘
    In the last century, when a wicked and unworthy subject annoyed the Sultan of Turkey or the Czar of Russia, he had his head cut of without much ceremony; but when the same happened in England, the monarch declared: ‘We are not amused’; and the whole British nation even now, a century later, is immensely proud of how rude their Queen was.
    Terribly rude expressions (if pronounced grimly) are: 1 am afraid that . . .’ ‘unless . ..’ ‘nevertheless . . .’ ‘How queer . . .’ and 1 am sorry, but . . .’
    It is true that quite often you can hear remarks like: ‘You’d better see that you get out of here I ‘ Or ‘Shut your big mouth I ‘ Or ‘Dirty pig! ‘ etc. These remarks are very un-English and are the results of foreign influence. (Dating back, however, to the era of the Danish invasion.)
    _____________________________________________________

    I am sorry – wasn’t I a bit annoying with this comment and generally here? : ) I apologize. It is always my fault.

    • I agree that some people are deliberately rude. I was implying more so to the stranger that may just be having a bad or “off” day. 🙂
      It is better to be kinder than necessary to people because everyone is fighting their own battles everyday.

  2. Don’t explain it to me – I can still read beneath the lines : ) I didn’t mean strangers (though am I not a stranger to them as well?) – that was a piece irony, therefore I didn’t put smiles ( : ) ) after each full stop. I am always kind more than it is necessary and I am proud of it. So, I can control myself even after my own “everyday battle”. You know what, people can be even more annoying when they are silent than sound.: ) It is their fault (irony & smile). I would have put my ink signature here and “Sincerely Yours” : ) I adore your stories. : )

Leave a Reply

