It’s not me, it’s you

Let’s face it, when a relationship doesn’t work out, rarely do we take any of the blame. I am not talking about romantic relationships here but rather friendships. I’ve had a few end over the years, and it isn’t that I don’t care for those people anymore, it’s that I care about me more. Self preservation.
I will admit that there is always a tiny bit more that I could have done to save a friendship but at the end of the day, a real friend would never ask me to stretch myself so far and so thin.
It’s not me, it’s you.
My advice to all that are feeling that they are getting less than they deserve out of a friendship is to let it go. You are more important than forcing something that has died. When a relationship becomes more about the other person or you feel like you can’t be yourself 100% of the time, in all of your fabulous and not so fabulous glory, then that person is no longer doing you any good. They are no longer enhancing you and really, what good is having someone in your life that isn’t enhancing you?
Don’t allow people to stay in your life that don’t bring out the best in you. Don’t be afraid to let go of these toxic people. Another person, a great friend even, may be just around the corner. At least that has been the case in my experience. 🙂

6 thoughts on “It’s not me, it’s you

    • Love you momma! I’m not trying to be anti-social but I’m sick of putting in more than I get out. Having kids has changed my perspective on life and relationships. Having someone I love be so close to dying also shows me how short life is and how it isn’t worth having people that do not enhance me in my life.

      • Children definitely change everything in life, which means you have less to give. So sad that when you pull back a little you can see how unbalanced some relationships are.

      • So true! I recently took a step back and saw how unbalanced a long friendship was and how I wasn’t getting anything out of it anymore. I couldn’t be myself anymore. I’m the first to admit that I have changed but I look at it more as a positive growth than a negative change.

Leave a Reply

