Personal Challenge #1: Why this exercise was important

The challenge was to not criticize yourself for an entire day. How did it go?
I found myself, at least a half dozen times, being hard on myself for simple things. Since I was doing this experiment I decided to give myself a break from all the negative talk and instead focus on making things better. I got through the day happier and more positive than I had started out my day. The most important thing I found was most of us tend to be harder on ourselves than in those we love the most.
Shouldn’t we love ourselves the most? Being a mother I see how important my example is in every aspect of my life and most importantly the way I treat myself. I give non verbal cues to my children on how they should feel and treat themselves. Some days it a constant daily struggle to be good to myself and to move forward.
I hope this short experiment taught you that the majority of things you were most critical in yourself were most likely those things that at the end of the day, didn’t have the biggest affects on your day and world.
Be kind to yourself. Love yourself. Keep learning more about yourself.  Keep reminding yourself that you deserve a break from negative thinking. 

Leave a Reply

