It Finally Rained Today.

It finally rained today. And it couldn’t have come at a more perfect time in my life. It finally rained after days of heavy clouds and slight drizzle here and there. The type of drizzle that looks like it will turn into rain but instead just leaves an ominous fog heavy falling from the skies above.

It finally rained today. And the rain came at a time when I was feeling like I needed my life to be washed of negativity, harsh feelings and toxic people; a time when I felt I needed to see myself clearly; a time when I needed to see who would be standing with me in the falling drops of rain and show me the beauty of dancing in the rain.

And the sound of the rain gently tapping against my windowsill and playing a special peaceful tune on my roof, as if playing for only my ears, made me realize that everything is as it should be in my world. Everything is right in my life and that I am right where I am supposed to be and that I am surrounded by the people that are right for me.

It finally rained today and I smiled. And I smile still. I smile because I forgive those who have hurt me. I smile because my heart is so full of love and joy at the knowledge that I get “it”, I get my purpose as to why I am here on this earth. I get the thing that most people forget. The simple things that not everyone seems to care about. Honesty, loyalty, respect, love, kindness and above all forgiveness. I smile because I see that all the wonderful people in my life are not new faces, but the ones that have always been there by my side in good times and in bad.

It finally rained today.
The rain couldn’t have come at a more perfect time.
It finally rained today and I smile.

3 thoughts on “It Finally Rained Today.

  1. Beautifully said my friend, beautifully said. It is amazing how powerful forgiveness can be. It’s difficult and usually goes unacknowledged but it is also extremely empowering and cathartic to let go and forgive without expecting anything in return. The rain gives the world a fresh start and washes clean the dirt and dust of the days past… forgiving and letting go does the same for our hearts.

Leave a Reply

